Free access · Free model program · verified 2026-10-09

UnoRouter free models

UnoRouter marks part of its catalog free: a model carrying the :free suffix routes only to free providers and never uses an account balance, while the same model name without the suffix is the paid version billed per token. Access requires a UnoRouter account and an API key. UnoRouter's own cap is 1 request per minute, per free model, per user, layered over the upstream provider's own cap, daily token budgets on some free pools that reset at midnight UTC, tokens-per-minute caps triggered by very large prompts, and a per-user concurrency limit on parallel requests. A rate-limited route returns 429 with a Retry-After header, and a model whose free providers are all busy returns 503, which usually clears in minutes. UnoRouter's models, pricing and rate limit pages do not state whether a credit card is required. There is no announced expiry, and availability is best effort: a model leaves the catalog only when every channel is out, and it returns within minutes once a channel recovers.

Free allowanceNot stated by the provider
Tightest limit1 requests / min
Context cap on the free routeNone stated
To startSignup, payment unknown
Your dataNot stated
TypeStanding
Checkedverified 2026-10-09recheck due 2026-11-08
APIOpenAI-compatible API, per the provider.
01

The terms in full

UnoRouter marks part of its catalog free: a model carrying the :free suffix routes only to free providers and never uses an account balance, while the same model name without the suffix is the paid version billed per token. Access requires a UnoRouter account and an API key. UnoRouter's own cap is 1 request per minute, per free model, per user, layered over the upstream provider's own cap, daily token budgets on some free pools that reset at midnight UTC, tokens-per-minute caps triggered by very large prompts, and a per-user concurrency limit on parallel requests. A rate-limited route returns 429 with a Retry-After header, and a model whose free providers are all busy returns 503, which usually clears in minutes. UnoRouter's models, pricing and rate limit pages do not state whether a credit card is required. There is no announced expiry, and availability is best effort: a model leaves the catalog only when every channel is out, and it returns within minutes once a channel recovers.

  • When it runs out Requests are rejected (429) until the window resets.
  • Clock Standing best-effort catalog. UnoRouter caps free models at 1 request per minute, per free model, per user, and some free pools also carry daily token budgets that reset at midnight UTC. Upstream provider caps apply on top. UnoRouter publishes no end date.
  • Region No region restriction stated by the provider.
02

Models

Free routes carry a :free suffix in UnoRouter's own catalog, and the set changes as free pools drain or upstream providers change. On 2026-09-28 the newest catalog listings included space-bunny-alpha:free, mimo-v2.6-flash:free, mimo-v2.6-pro:free, axon-1.8-pro:free, axon-1.8-flash:free, axon-1.8-lightning:free, atria-dawn-preview:free, ling-3.0-flash-vl:free, nex-n2.5-mini:free and k2-horizon:free. Not all free models support tool calls or vision, so check the capability badges on the model page.

03

Signup, payment, data

  • Signup A UnoRouter account and an API key are required. UnoRouter's documentation does not state which sign-in methods are available or whether a credit card is collected at signup.
  • Card / payment Not stated by the provider.
  • Training Not stated by the provider.
  • Data terms UnoRouter's models, pricing and rate limit pages do not state how prompts sent to free models are handled or whether they can be used for training. Free requests route across upstream provider groups and can fail over between them, so check UnoRouter's privacy policy and the policy of the provider serving the model before sensitive use.
04

What the provider's page says

Every structured number above is backed by one of these quotes, checked verbatim against the page our crawler fetched. A field with no quote is shown as not stated.

  • limits “Our free-model cap: 1 request per minute, per free model, per user.” source
  • at exhaustion “429 A rate limit fired (see the kinds below). Wait for Retry-After seconds, then retry or switch models.” source

Evidence pages, re-read nightly

05

Change history

  1. Listing corrected: UnoRouter UnoRouter free models our correction, not a provider change
    • free terms UnoRouter marks part of its catalog free: a model carrying the :free suffix routes only to free providers and never uses an account balance, while the same model name without the suffix is the paid version billed per token. Access requires a UnoRouter account and an API key. UnoRouter's own cap is 1
    • signup A UnoRouter account and an API key are required. UnoRouter's documentation does not state which sign-in methods are available or whether a credit card is collected at signup.
    • data treatment UnoRouter's models, pricing and rate limit pages do not state how prompts sent to free models are handled or whether they can be used for training. Free requests route across upstream provider groups and can fail over between them, so check UnoRouter's privacy policy and the policy of the provider s
    • clock Standing best-effort catalog. UnoRouter caps free models at 1 request per minute, per free model, per user, and some free pools also carry daily token budgets that reset at midnight UTC. Upstream provider caps apply on top. UnoRouter publishes no end date.
    • training use not_stated
  2. Listing corrected: UnoRouter UnoRouter free models our correction, not a provider change
    • free terms UnoRouter publishes free models that carry a :free suffix, and a :free model routes only to free providers and never uses an account balance. Calling them requires a UnoRouter account and an API key. UnoRouter's own cap is 1 request per minute, per free model, per user, layered over the upstream pro
    • signup A UnoRouter account and an API key are required. UnoRouter's published pages do not state which sign-in methods are offered or whether a payment method is needed at signup.
    • clock Standing best-effort catalog with a cap of 1 request per minute, per free model, per user, plus the upstream provider's own cap, daily token budgets on some free pools that reset at midnight UTC, tokens-per-minute caps, and a per-user concurrency limit. No published expiry.
  3. Listing corrected: UnoRouter UnoRouter free models our correction, not a provider change
    • free terms UnoRouter offers models priced at $0 input and $0 output, marked with a :free suffix. A :free model routes only to free providers and never uses an account balance. A UnoRouter account and an API key are required to call them. UnoRouter's own cap is 1 request per minute, per free model, per user, la
    • signup A UnoRouter account and an API key from the Tokens page are required to call the free models.
    • clock Standing best-effort catalog. UnoRouter caps free models at 1 request per minute, per free model, per user, on top of upstream provider caps, daily token budgets on some free pools that reset at midnight UTC, tokens-per-minute caps, and a per-user concurrency limit on parallel requests. No expiry is
  4. Listing corrected: UnoRouter UnoRouter free models our correction, not a provider change
    • free terms UnoRouter offers free model routes marked with a :free suffix and priced at $0 input and $0 output. A :free model routes only to free providers and never uses an account balance, while the same model name without the suffix is the paid version billed per token. Calling a free model requires a UnoRou
    • models detail Free routes carry a :free suffix in UnoRouter's own catalog, and the set changes as free pools drain or upstream providers change. On 2026-09-28 the newest catalog listings included space-bunny-alpha:free, mimo-v2.6-flash:free, mimo-v2.6-pro:free, axon-1.8-pro:free, axon-1.8-flash:free, axon-1.8-lig
    • signup A UnoRouter account and an API key are required, and UnoRouter's Quickstart covers getting a key. UnoRouter does not state which account sign-in methods it accepts, and it does not state whether a credit card is required.
    • clock Standing best-effort catalog with no published expiry. Free use is capped at 1 request per minute, per free model, per user, layered with the upstream provider's own cap, daily token budgets on some free pools that reset at midnight UTC, tokens-per-minute caps, and a per-user concurrency limit.
  5. Listing corrected: UnoRouter UnoRouter free models our correction, not a provider change
    • free terms UnoRouter offers models priced at $0 for input and $0 for output, marked with a :free suffix. A :free model routes only to free providers and never uses an account balance, and the same name without the suffix is the paid version. Using the API requires a UnoRouter account and an API key. UnoRouter'
    • models detail Free models carry a :free suffix, for example gpt-oss-120b:free, and the paid version is the same model name without the suffix. Free models were listed in UnoRouter's own catalog on 2026-09-18, and the set changes as shared pools drain or upstream providers change. Not all free models support tool
    • signup A UnoRouter account and an API key are required. The sign-in methods offered and any payment method requirement at signup are not stated on UnoRouter's models or documentation pages.
    • clock Standing best-effort catalog with a cap of 1 request per minute, per free model, per user, plus upstream provider caps, daily token budgets on some free pools that reset at midnight UTC, tokens-per-minute caps, and a per-user concurrency limit. No published expiry.
    • card required not_stated
06

Evidence and scope

Last verified
2026-10-09 (recheck due 2026-11-08)
Evidence standard
Provider-owned pricing, quota, limits, model or account pages only; third-party lists are never evidence.
Data
program.json, and the whole inventory at free-access.json (CC BY 4.0)

LLM Price Index lists what the provider publishes and links the page it came from. It does not test speed or quality, and a free route can change or end without notice; the change history above records what the nightly re-read confirmed.