Cohere: All Chat models + Embed/Rerank (trial keys)
Standing evaluation/trial API keys are free but limited. Trial keys are capped at 1,000 API calls per month. Chat models are limited to 20 requests per minute each. Other endpoint limits are Audio Transcriptions 5 RPM, Embed 2,000 inputs per minute, Embed Images 5 inputs per minute, EmbedJob 5 RPM, Rerank 10 RPM, Parse 500 RPM, Tokenize 100 RPM, and default endpoints 500 RPM. The documentation states a recurring monthly limit and gives no trial expiration date or one-time credit balance.
The terms in full
Standing evaluation/trial API keys are free but limited. Trial keys are capped at 1,000 API calls per month. Chat models are limited to 20 requests per minute each. Other endpoint limits are Audio Transcriptions 5 RPM, Embed 2,000 inputs per minute, Embed Images 5 inputs per minute, EmbedJob 5 RPM, Rerank 10 RPM, Parse 500 RPM, Tokenize 100 RPM, and default endpoints 500 RPM. The documentation states a recurring monthly limit and gives no trial expiration date or one-time credit balance.
- When it runs out Not stated by the provider.
- Clock Not stated by the provider. The quota is monthly and no fixed trial expiration is stated
- Region No region restriction stated by the provider.
Models
Offer-wide FAQ says trial keys can test all Cohere models and APIs. The current model-specific Chat table lists Command A+, Command A Reasoning, Command A Translate, Command A Vision, Command A, Command R+, Command R, Command R7B, and North Mini Code at 20 RPM. Other APIs include Audio Transcriptions, Embed, Embed Images, EmbedJob, Rerank, Tokenize, and endpoints covered by the default limit.
Signup, payment, data
- Signup required; signing up for a Cohere account creates or permits creation of a trial API key
- Card / payment Not stated by the provider.
- Training Trains by default; the provider offers an opt-out.
- Data terms Prompts and generations may be used to train Cohere models by default; Cohere says users can opt out in dashboard settings at any time. Cohere's enterprise data commitments and the opt-out FAQ are addressed to paying customers; trial-key use is governed by the general terms and privacy policy.
What the provider's page says
Every structured number above is backed by one of these quotes, checked verbatim against the page our crawler fetched. A field with no quote is shown as not stated.
- allowance “Trial keys (and prod keys on newer Chat model variants) are limited to 1,000 API calls a month.” source
- limits “Command A 20 req / min 500 req / min” source
Evidence pages, re-read nightly
Change history
No confirmed change to this program since tracking began. The nightly re-read still runs; a change that survives two consecutive reads lands here.
Evidence and scope
- Last verified
- 2026-10-09 (recheck due 2026-11-08)
- Evidence standard
- Provider-owned pricing, quota, limits, model or account pages only; third-party lists are never evidence.
- Data
- program.json, and the whole inventory at free-access.json (CC BY 4.0)
LLM Price Index lists what the provider publishes and links the page it came from. It does not test speed or quality, and a free route can change or end without notice; the change history above records what the nightly re-read confirmed.