OpenAI: Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing
Explicitly limited free promotion for eligible API organizations that opt in to share API inputs and outputs. Eligible Launch and Grow organizations receive up to 1,000,000 tokens/day in the large-model group and 10,000,000 tokens/day in the small-model group; eligible Build organizations receive 250,000 and 2,500,000 tokens/day respectively. Eligibility is shown on the data sharing settings page, and organizations that do not see the offer there are not eligible. Quotas are shared within each group and reset at 00:00 UTC. A request that would cross the daily quota is billed in full, and overage is billed normally. Only traffic from sharing-enabled projects qualifies. A positive account balance is required. Fine-tuned models, fine-tuning training, evals, and tool use are excluded.
The terms in full
Explicitly limited free promotion for eligible API organizations that opt in to share API inputs and outputs. Eligible Launch and Grow organizations receive up to 1,000,000 tokens/day in the large-model group and 10,000,000 tokens/day in the small-model group; eligible Build organizations receive 250,000 and 2,500,000 tokens/day respectively. Eligibility is shown on the data sharing settings page, and organizations that do not see the offer there are not eligible. Quotas are shared within each group and reset at 00:00 UTC. A request that would cross the daily quota is billed in full, and overage is billed normally. Only traffic from sharing-enabled projects qualifies. A positive account balance is required. Fine-tuned models, fine-tuning training, evals, and tool use are excluded.
- When it runs out Paid usage starts at normal rates.
- Clock No fixed end date is stated. OpenAI promises 30 days' notice before terminating the program; daily quotas reset at 00:00 UTC.
- Region No region restriction stated by the provider.
Models
On 2026-10-09, the 1M/250K group listed: gpt-6.1-sol, gpt-6-astra, gpt-6-sol, gpt-6-luna, gpt-5.6-sol, gpt-5.5-2026-04-23, gpt-5.4-2026-03-05, gpt-5.2-2025-12-11, gpt-5.1-2025-11-13, gpt-5.1-codex, gpt-5-codex, gpt-5-2025-08-07, gpt-5-chat-latest, gpt-4.1-2025-04-14, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4o-2024-08-06, gpt-4o-2024-11-20, o3-2025-04-16, o1-preview-2024-09-12, and o1-2024-12-17. On 2026-10-09, the 10M/2.5M group listed: gpt-5.6-terra, gpt-5.6-luna, gpt-5.4-mini-2026-03-17, gpt-5.4-nano-2026-03-17, gpt-5.1-codex-mini, gpt-5-mini-2025-08-07, gpt-5-nano-2025-08-07, gpt-4.1-mini-2025-04-14, gpt-4.1-nano-2025-04-14, gpt-4o-mini-2024-07-18, o4-mini-2025-04-16, o1-mini-2024-09-12, and codex-mini-latest. The page also keeps gpt-4.5-preview in its list but marks it shut down, so it is not current access.
Signup, payment, data
- Signup required; an OpenAI API organization is required, and only an organization owner can enable sharing
- Card / payment not stated as a card; a positive prepaid balance is required to use the free tokens, and OpenAI's prepaid-billing article puts the minimum initial credit purchase at $5 (payment details are added in that step). The free daily tokens are not billed, so they never draw the balance down.
- Training Provider says it may use your prompts or outputs to train or improve models.
- Data terms Yes, explicitly opt-in: shared data is used to identify usage patterns, measure model quality, and inform future evaluation and model training. Sharing is disabled by default and can be turned off at any time.
What the provider's page says
Every structured number above is backed by one of these quotes, checked verbatim against the page our crawler fetched. A field with no quote is shown as not stated.
- allowance “You’re entitled to up to 1M (250k for tiers 1-2) tokens per day shared across gpt-5, gpt-5-codex, gpt-5-chat-latest, gpt-4.5-preview (deprecated and shut down as of 7/14/25), gpt-4.1, gpt-4o, o1, o3 and o1-preview models, and up to 10M (…” source
- at exhaustion “If you use more than the combined limit of 1M/250k or 10M/2.5M across these model groups, overage will be billed at normal rates.” source
- payment “Choose your initial credit purchase amount. The minimum purchase is $5, and the default amount is $10.” source
Evidence pages, re-read nightly
Change history
- Terms changed: OpenAI Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing (free terms, models detail)
- free terms Explicitly limited free promotion for eligible API organizations that opt in to share API inputs and outputs. Eligible Launch and Grow organizations receive up to 1,000,000 tokens/day in the large-model group and 10,000,000 tokens/day in the small-model group; eligible Build organizations receive 25
- models detail On 2026-10-09, the 1M/250K group listed: gpt-6.1-sol, gpt-6-astra, gpt-6-sol, gpt-6-luna, gpt-5.6-sol, gpt-5.5-2026-04-23, gpt-5.4-2026-03-05, gpt-5.2-2025-12-11, gpt-5.1-2025-11-13, gpt-5.1-codex, gpt-5-codex, gpt-5-2025-08-07, gpt-5-chat-latest, gpt-4.1-2025-04-14, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4o-2024-0
- Terms changed: OpenAI Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing (free terms, models detail)
- free terms Explicitly limited free promotion for eligible API organizations that opt in to share API inputs and outputs. Eligible organizations in the Launch and Grow usage tiers receive up to 1,000,000 tokens per day in the large-model group and 10,000,000 tokens per day in the small-model group, and eligible
- models detail On 2026-10-08 the 1M/250K group lists gpt-6.1-sol, gpt-6-astra, gpt-6-sol, gpt-6-luna, gpt-5.6-sol, gpt-5.5-2026-04-23, gpt-5.4-2026-03-05, gpt-5.2-2025-12-11, gpt-5.1-2025-11-13, gpt-5.1-codex, gpt-5-codex, gpt-5-2025-08-07, gpt-5-chat-latest, gpt-4.1-2025-04-14, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4o-2024-08-0
- Terms changed: OpenAI Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing (free terms, models detail)
- free terms Explicitly limited free promotion for eligible API organizations that opt in to share API inputs and outputs. Eligible Launch and Grow organizations receive up to 1,000,000 tokens per day in the large-model group and 10,000,000 tokens per day in the small-model group. Eligible Build organizations re
- models detail On 2026-10-07 the 1M/250K group was: gpt-6-astra, gpt-6-sol, gpt-6-luna, gpt-5.6-sol, gpt-5.5-2026-04-23, gpt-5.4-2026-03-05, gpt-5.2-2025-12-11, gpt-5.1-2025-11-13, gpt-5.1-codex, gpt-5-codex, gpt-5-2025-08-07, gpt-5-chat-latest, gpt-4.1-2025-04-14, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4o-2024-08-06, gpt-4o-2024
- Terms changed: OpenAI Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing (models detail)
- models detail As of 2026-10-06 the 1,000,000 and 250,000 token group lists gpt-6-astra, gpt-6-sol, gpt-6-luna, gpt-5.6-sol, gpt-5.5-2026-04-23, gpt-5.4-2026-03-05, gpt-5.2-2025-12-11, gpt-5.1-2025-11-13, gpt-5.1-codex, gpt-5-codex, gpt-5-2025-08-07, gpt-5-chat-latest, gpt-4.1-2025-04-14, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4o
- Terms changed: OpenAI Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing (models detail)
- models detail On 2026-10-05 the 1M/250K group lists gpt-6-astra, gpt-6-sol, gpt-6-luna, gpt-5.6-sol, gpt-5.5-2026-04-23, gpt-5.4-2026-03-05, gpt-5.2-2025-12-11, gpt-5.1-2025-11-13, gpt-5.1-codex, gpt-5-codex, gpt-5-2025-08-07, gpt-5-chat-latest, gpt-4.1-2025-04-14, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4o-2024-08-06, gpt-4o-202
- Terms changed: OpenAI Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing (models detail)
- models detail On 2026-10-04 the 1M/250K group lists gpt-6-astra, gpt-6-sol, gpt-6-luna, gpt-5.6-sol, gpt-5.5-2026-04-23, gpt-5.4-2026-03-05, gpt-5.2-2025-12-11, gpt-5.1-2025-11-13, gpt-5.1-codex, gpt-5-codex, gpt-5-2025-08-07, gpt-5-chat-latest, gpt-4.1-2025-04-14, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4o-2024-08-06, gpt-4o-202
- Terms changed: OpenAI Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing (models detail)
- models detail The 1M/250K group on 2026-10-02: gpt-6-astra, gpt-6-sol, gpt-6-luna, gpt-5.6-sol, gpt-5.5-2026-04-23, gpt-5.4-2026-03-05, gpt-5.2-2025-12-11, gpt-5.1-2025-11-13, gpt-5.1-codex, gpt-5-codex, gpt-5-2025-08-07, gpt-5-chat-latest, gpt-4.1-2025-04-14, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4o-2024-08-06, gpt-4o-2024-11-
- Terms changed: OpenAI Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing (models detail)
- models detail Current 1M/250K group on 2026-10-01: gpt-6-astra, gpt-6-sol, gpt-6-luna, gpt-5.6-sol, gpt-5.5-2026-04-23, gpt-5.4-2026-03-05, gpt-5.2-2025-12-11, gpt-5.1-2025-11-13, gpt-5.1-codex, gpt-5-codex, gpt-5-2025-08-07, gpt-5-chat-latest, gpt-4.1-2025-04-14, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4o-2024-08-06, gpt-4o-2024
- Terms changed: OpenAI Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing (models detail)
- models detail As of 2026-09-30 the 1M/250K group lists gpt-6-astra, gpt-6-sol, gpt-6-luna, gpt-5.6-sol, gpt-5.5-2026-04-23, gpt-5.4-2026-03-05, gpt-5.2-2025-12-11, gpt-5.1-2025-11-13, gpt-5.1-codex, gpt-5-codex, gpt-5-2025-08-07, gpt-5-chat-latest, gpt-4.1-2025-04-14, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4o-2024-08-06, gpt-4o-
- Terms changed: OpenAI Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing (models detail)
- models detail On 2026-09-29 the 1M/250K token group listed: gpt-6-astra, gpt-6-sol, gpt-6-luna, gpt-5.6-sol, gpt-5.5-2026-04-23, gpt-5.4-2026-03-05, gpt-5.2-2025-12-11, gpt-5.1-2025-11-13, gpt-5.1-codex, gpt-5-codex, gpt-5-2025-08-07, gpt-5-chat-latest, gpt-4.1-2025-04-14, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4o-2024-08-06, gp
- Terms changed: OpenAI Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing (models detail)
- models detail On 2026-09-28 the 1M/250K group listed gpt-6-astra, gpt-6-sol, gpt-6-luna, gpt-5.6-sol, gpt-5.5-2026-04-23, gpt-5.4-2026-03-05, gpt-5.2-2025-12-11, gpt-5.1-2025-11-13, gpt-5.1-codex, gpt-5-codex, gpt-5-2025-08-07, gpt-5-chat-latest, gpt-4.1-2025-04-14, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4o-2024-08-06, gpt-4o-20
- Terms changed: OpenAI Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing (models detail)
- models detail Current 1M/250K group on 2026-09-27: gpt-6-astra, gpt-6-sol, gpt-6-luna, gpt-5.6-sol, gpt-5.5-2026-04-23, gpt-5.4-2026-03-05, gpt-5.2-2025-12-11, gpt-5.1-2025-11-13, gpt-5.1-codex, gpt-5-codex, gpt-5-2025-08-07, gpt-5-chat-latest, gpt-4.1-2025-04-14, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4o-2024-08-06, gpt-4o-2024
- Terms changed: OpenAI Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing (models detail)
- models detail On 2026-09-25 the 1M/250K token group lists gpt-6-astra, gpt-6-sol, gpt-6-luna, gpt-5.6-sol, gpt-5.5-2026-04-23, gpt-5.4-2026-03-05, gpt-5.2-2025-12-11, gpt-5.1-2025-11-13, gpt-5.1-codex, gpt-5-codex, gpt-5-2025-08-07, gpt-5-chat-latest, gpt-4.1-2025-04-14, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4o-2024-08-06, gpt-
- Terms changed: OpenAI Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing (models detail)
- models detail Current 1M/250K group on 2026-09-24: gpt-6-astra, gpt-6-sol, gpt-6-luna, gpt-5.6-sol, gpt-5.5-2026-04-23, gpt-5.4-2026-03-05, gpt-5.2-2025-12-11, gpt-5.1-2025-11-13, gpt-5.1-codex, gpt-5-codex, gpt-5-2025-08-07, gpt-5-chat-latest, gpt-4.1-2025-04-14, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4o-2024-08-06, gpt-4o-2024
- Listing corrected: OpenAI Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing our correction, not a provider change
- card not stated as a card; a positive prepaid balance is required to use the free tokens, and OpenAI's prepaid-billing article puts the minimum initial credit purchase at $5 (payment details are added in that step). The free daily tokens are not billed, so they never draw the balance down.
- Terms changed: OpenAI Free daily tokens for opted-in data sharing (card)
- card not stated as a card; a positive prepaid balance is required to use the free tokens, and OpenAI's prepaid-billing article puts the minimum initial credit purchase at $5 (payment details are added in that step). The free daily tokens are not billed, so they never draw the balance down.
Evidence and scope
- Last verified
- 2026-10-09 (recheck due 2026-10-16)
- Evidence standard
- Provider-owned pricing, quota, limits, model or account pages only; third-party lists are never evidence.
- Data
- program.json, and the whole inventory at free-access.json (CC BY 4.0)
LLM Price Index lists what the provider publishes and links the page it came from. It does not test speed or quality, and a free route can change or end without notice; the change history above records what the nightly re-read confirmed.