AI Singapore: SEA-LION models (Gemma/Llama SEA-LION variants)
SEA-LION advertises a free API for prototyping and proof-of-concept development, rate-limited to 10 calls per minute per user. Users create one Trial API Key through the Playground. The provider says the free APIs are not designed for production or high-throughput workloads.
The terms in full
SEA-LION advertises a free API for prototyping and proof-of-concept development, rate-limited to 10 calls per minute per user. Users create one Trial API Key through the Playground. The provider says the free APIs are not designed for production or high-throughput workloads.
- When it runs out Not stated by the provider.
- Clock The key is labeled a Trial API Key, but no expiration date or elapsed-time limit is stated.
- Region Not stated by the provider. The service is operated by AI Singapore/National University of Singapore, but no user-location restriction is stated on the audited offer or API pages
Models
The API is offer-wide across the SEA-LION models returned for the user's key. Current documentation explicitly demonstrates SEA-LION v4.5 for instruct and function-calling use, SEA-LION v3.5 reasoning models, aisingapore/SEA-Guard, and SEA-LION-ModernBERT-Embedding-600M. The exact authenticated deployment list must be queried with the generated key and is not enumerated on the public offer page.
Signup, payment, data
- Signup required: sign in to the SEA-LION Playground with a Google account and create an API key
- Card / payment Not stated by the provider.
- Training Not stated by the provider.
- Data terms Not stated by the provider. The privacy policy describes collection of account, contact, log, device, browsing, and geographic data, but does not state whether API prompts or outputs are used for model training.
What the provider's page says
Every structured number above is backed by one of these quotes, checked verbatim against the page our crawler fetched. A field with no quote is shown as not stated.
- limits “our rate limits is set to 10 requests per minute per user” source
Evidence pages, re-read nightly
Change history
No confirmed change to this program since tracking began. The nightly re-read still runs; a change that survives two consecutive reads lands here.
Evidence and scope
- Last verified
- 2026-09-19 (recheck due 2026-10-19)
- Evidence standard
- Provider-owned pricing, quota, limits, model or account pages only; third-party lists are never evidence.
- Data
- program.json, and the whole inventory at free-access.json (CC BY 4.0)
LLM Price Index lists what the provider publishes and links the page it came from. It does not test speed or quality, and a free route can change or end without notice; the change history above records what the nightly re-read confirmed.