Free access · Free model program · verified 2026-09-18

Z.ai / Zhipu free GLM model APIs

Standing model-specific zero price: input, cached input, cached-input storage, and output are all listed as Free for GLM-4.7-Flash and GLM-4.6V-Flash (and the legacy GLM-4.5-Flash id, which BigModel says now routes to GLM-4.7-Flash). Numeric request/token rate limits are not public on the pricing page and must be checked on the authenticated account rate-limits surface.

Free allowanceNot stated by the provider
Tightest limitNot stated by the provider
Context cap on the free routeNone stated
To startSignup, payment unknown
Your dataVaries by route
TypeStanding
Checkedverified 2026-09-18recheck due 2026-10-18
APIOpenAI-compatible API, per the provider.
01

The terms in full

Standing model-specific zero price: input, cached input, cached-input storage, and output are all listed as Free for GLM-4.7-Flash and GLM-4.6V-Flash (and the legacy GLM-4.5-Flash id, which BigModel says now routes to GLM-4.7-Flash). Numeric request/token rate limits are not public on the pricing page and must be checked on the authenticated account rate-limits surface.

  • When it runs out Not stated by the provider.
  • Clock Not stated by the provider. No end date is attached to GLM-4.7-Flash or GLM-4.6V-Flash, the two models the international pricing page lists as Free on every price dimension.
  • Region Separate international Z.ai and China-region BigModel endpoints. China API-key functions may require real-name verification. Z.AI's Terms of Use also require users to confirm they are not located in Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Crimea, Donetsk, or Zaporizhzhia.
02

Models

GLM-4.7-Flash is the current free text model and GLM-4.6V-Flash the current free vision-language model on the international pricing page. That page still prints GLM-4.5-Flash at Free on every price dimension, but the China-region BigModel page for GLM-4.5-Flash states the model was retired on 2026-01-30 with requests auto-routed to GLM-4.7-Flash, so treat GLM-4.5-Flash as a legacy id rather than a second free model. Other models' 'Limited-time Free' cached-input storage is not free inference and is not included in this offer. China-region BigModel additionally lists GLM-4-Flash-250414, GLM-4.1V-Thinking-Flash, GLM-4V-Flash, CogView-3-Flash, and CogVideoX-Flash alongside overlapping GLM Flash models.

03

Signup, payment, data

  • Signup required for API use; core services may require an account, login, and API key
  • Card / payment Not stated by the provider. The free-model pricing page does not state that a payment method is required
  • Training Depends on the upstream model provider the request is routed to.
  • Data terms Z.AI's Additional Terms for API Services state that End User Content is used only as necessary to provide the API Services, comply with applicable law, enforce policies, and prevent abuse, and that it will not be used to develop or improve Services unless the user explicitly agrees. The same Terms of Use say that for individual users Z.AI reserves the right to process User Content to improve existing Services and develop new products, and that individual users authorize the use and storage of User Content that is not personal data for developing and improving its machine learning and artificial intelligence technologies, so the protection depends on whether the account is treated as a business or developer account rather than an individual one. The China-region BigModel privacy policy separately allows anonymized information to be used for research, statistical analysis, service improvement, and machine learning or model-algorithm training.
04

What the provider's page says

Every structured number above is backed by one of these quotes, checked verbatim against the page our crawler fetched. A field with no quote is shown as not stated.

  • No quote-backed numbers yet; the terms above are the record.

Evidence pages, re-read nightly

05

Change history

  1. Listing corrected: Z.ai Z.ai / Zhipu free GLM model APIs our correction, not a provider change
    • data treatment Z.AI's Additional Terms for API Services state that End User Content is used only as necessary to provide the API Services, comply with applicable law, enforce policies, and prevent abuse, and that it will not be used to develop or improve Services unless the user explicitly agrees. The same Terms o
    • clock not_stated; no end date is attached to GLM-4.7-Flash or GLM-4.6V-Flash, the two models the international pricing page lists as Free on every price dimension.
  2. Terms changed: Z.ai Z.ai / Zhipu free GLM model APIs (free terms, models detail)
    • free terms Standing model-specific zero price: input, cached input, cached-input storage, and output are all listed as Free for GLM-4.7-Flash and GLM-4.6V-Flash (and the legacy GLM-4.5-Flash id, which BigModel says now routes to GLM-4.7-Flash). Numeric request/token rate limits are not public on the pricing pa
    • models detail GLM-4.7-Flash is the current free text model and GLM-4.6V-Flash the current free vision-language model on the international pricing page. That page still prints GLM-4.5-Flash at Free on every price dimension, but the China-region BigModel page for GLM-4.5-Flash states the model was retired on 2026-0
06

Evidence and scope

Last verified
2026-09-18 (recheck due 2026-10-18)
Evidence standard
Provider-owned pricing, quota, limits, model or account pages only; third-party lists are never evidence.
Data
program.json, and the whole inventory at free-access.json (CC BY 4.0)

LLM Price Index lists what the provider publishes and links the page it came from. It does not test speed or quality, and a free route can change or end without notice; the change history above records what the nightly re-read confirmed.